TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge: Glass

A little over a week or so ago I took up a new challenge–haiku–by way of TJ’s weekly household prompt, in that instance a piano. It was a lot of fun and as we go along he may find he has created a monster as I play at encapsulating everything I can think of into 5-7-5.

Hey, when I had a toddler in the house I was fairly skilled at making up impromptu rhymes and songs about peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches, items to chew on and stinky feet, all to the tunes of favorite kid songs. So this should be fun.

This week’s prompt is glass.

[City seen through rainy glass image to be replaced]

Thunder and lightning

Driven to the ground, with tears

On jagged pieces

 

Watching through its fog

As you walk away from me

I see all clearly

OK, let’s look at something a little more, shall we say, celebratory?

Whatever goes in 

your goblet, make it worthy

And may it be fine!

*********

[Wine in glass image to be replaced]

8 thoughts on “TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge: Glass

  1. skyllairae

    All of these haiku are lovely but I really like your second one. Especially the contrast between the fog and clarity. And I love poems about fog.

    1. Thanks, skyllairae! Yes, fog lends itself well to poetry, don’t you think? It may show up again in these pages. Thanks for stopping by and hope to see you again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: TJ’s Household Haiku – Windows | La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

  3. Ah, merci! Ha ha, transparent. 😉 A thought developed in my head, though, after last comment that this is now officially my new writing prompt to get started each day–maybe I shall spin and first thing I see after counting to three and opening my eyes I shall attempt to haiku. (Look, now I’m even using it as a verb…is that awful? 😛 )

  4. I love this multi-faceted look at the prompt “glass”. The images are great match too. I like them all for different reasons but perhaps number 1 first for its feeling of intensity. Thanks so much for participating! 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for your kind words! This has been such an amazing exercise each week, trying to relay a story in such a small space, and I am having such a fab time doing it. Other efforts may be just snippets of something, but each one has been (and I believe will continue to be) very rewarding. May I lift my glass and propose a toast for your introduction of it!

      1. It is a great mind exercise and thank you for the toast although my motives are transparent (I love writing haiku myself) . 🙂 à votre santé!

Leave a Reply

