Comfort Food: Stewed Apples on a Cold Winter’s Day

It’s still pretty cold outside, so this recipe might be a nice one to cozy up to at home. Hope you like it!

Frugal Days

My first entry on Frugal Days! I’m excited to be sharing here for the first time and hope you will enjoy my debut enough to try it for yourself. A piece of great news: It’s super duper easy and you can adjust it to suit your taste.

In this case I had come across a reference in passing to stewed apples in a book I was reading, Gloria Zachgo’s Never Waste Tears, a post-Civil War story about Kansas homesteaders. This is not unusual for me, that books lead me to recipes, and some even contain recipes as part of their plot line. This one didn’t have instructions but I did find a nice home recipe online.

So stewed apples sounded simply lovely—I envisioned a fire in one corner and a plateful of tender apples waiting on a cold prairie evening. I was lucky on this one because I already…

View original post 435 more words

One thought on “Comfort Food: Stewed Apples on a Cold Winter’s Day

Leave a Reply

