Guest Post: Kristie Dean: On the Trail of the Yorks (Plus Giveaway)

On the Trail of Richard IIIToday I’m very excited to host Kristie Dean, author of On the Trail of Richard III (formerly The World of Richard III), which I reviewed back in August. The paperback edition is being released today in the United States and is available for purchase at Amazon.

Now Dean is back with an accompanying text, On the Trail of the Yorks, which I’ll leave for her to introduce. However, I will add that you should be sure to leave a comment because there’s a free copy to be had! Simply leave a comment–don’t fret about saying anything super snazzy–and you’ll be entered into the draw! On the Trail of the Yorks is also available for purchase here.

On the Trail of the Yorks

Part of the fun of researching On the Trail of the Yorks was visiting the places the York family had lived and loved. I especially enjoyed visiting locations that had not experienced great changes because it felt as if I could almost reach out and touch the past. When Lisl invited me to do a guest blog, I decided to share some of my pictures from the research trip. Some of these made it into the book, while others did not.

Ludlow Castle has to be one of the more picturesque castles in the British Isles. The best views of the enormous building can be gained by meandering along the Bread Walk from Ludford Bridge. Towering over the river, Ludlow can be glimpsed from the path through a mixture of tangled vines and flowers. Richard, Duke of York, was here at the castle when news reached him that the king’s troops had arrived.

Ludlow Castle

From the first moment I visited Kenilworth Castle, I was enchanted.  The castle ruins glow red in the sun and it is easy to imagine how grand it once appeared as Richard approached it towards the end of his reign. ­­The garden in the castle is a recreation of a Tudor garden and is exquisite. A garden certainly existed at Kenilworth in Richard’s time as well.

Kenilworth Castle

Calais was an unexpected delight. I arrived early in the morning and made my way to the center of the city. After parking my rental car, I walked to Église de Notre Dame where George, Duke of Clarence, and Isabel Neville likely married. Unfortunately, it was closed for renovations, but I was able to make my way around the outside before walking on to the harbor. Calais was largely destroyed in the twentieth century and not much remains of the city as Richard and his brothers would have known it.

Calais
Église de Notre Dame

Bruges, Belgium is a place that I hope to return to time and again. Picturing Margaret, Duchess of Burgundy, as she rode in a lavish procession through the city following her marriage to Charles, was incredibly easy. The city center still retains its medieval feel and there is so much to offer a visitor interested in history. Of all the places that I visited for the first time on my research trip for On the Trail of Richard III, it was my favorite. Take a ride on the canal, wander the twisting, winding medieval streets, or climb to the top of the belfry for an amazing view.

Bruges

Anne Neville married Edward of Lancaster at the Château d’Amboise in France. I was doubly excited to visit the château since Anne Boleyn also stayed there for a time. The day I visited was a gorgeous sunny one, with the creamy white building shimmering against the backdrop of the sparkling blue sky. As I strolled through the gardens, I pictured a young Anne Neville doing the same as she contemplated her marriage to her family’s former enemy.

Chateau d'Amboise
Château d’Amboise

Cecily Neville is believed to have been born at Raby Castle. While little of the interior is the same as it was in her time, the exterior still resembles the castle Cecily knew. A visit to Raby Castle can take a few hours and the interior is accessible via a guided tour. On one of my visits I was lucky enough to see several of the deer that still roam Raby’s deer park. Although I have been several times, I always manage a visit to the parish church in Staindrop.

Raby

Ewelme, in Oxfordshire, was another delightful surprise. Elizabeth, the fifth child and second daughter of Cecily and Richard, married John de la Pole, the son of William de la Pole and Alice Chaucer. She and John would have visited Ewelme often, especially when Alice was still alive. Within the parish church of St. Mary the Virgin, a large alabaster tomb rests between the nave and the chapel of St. John the Baptist. This elaborately decorated tomb contains an effigy of Alice wearing a ducal coronet.

Ewelme

Eltham Palace was a favorite of Edward IV. He was responsible for the construction of the Great Hall. Today, the only way to visit the hall is by buying a ticket to tour the Art Deco palace. I thought I would rush through the palace and make my way immediately to the hall, but I thoroughly enjoyed the 1930s interior.

Eltham Palace
Eltham Palace

Lincoln Cathedral is a must-see for any visitor to England. The soaring cathedral was reputedly once the tallest building in the world. Not a single detail was overlooked in its construction and it is a beautiful place to visit. Nearby is the Medieval Bishops’ Palace where Richard likely stayed on his visit to the city. I also enjoyed visiting Gainsborough Old Hall, a short distance away. Richard was a guest here overnight.

screenshot

*********

Gainsborough Old Hall

About the author…

Kristie Dean is the author of On the Trail of Richard III (formerly The World of Richard III) and On the Trail of the Yorks, both available from Amberley Publishing. When not travelling for research, you can find her at home with her husband, three dogs and two cats.

Many, many thanks to Kristie Dean for stopping by for a visit and sharing her beautiful photos with us!

Remember to comment below to get your name in the drawing for a FREE COPY of On the Trail of the Yorks.

*********

30 thoughts on “Guest Post: Kristie Dean: On the Trail of the Yorks (Plus Giveaway)

  1. Beginning to plan a trip for the fall and this would be so helpful in working on my itinerary. Fingers crossed!

  2. Lovely photos, Kristie. I look forward to the book – even if my name doesn’t come up in the draw, I’ll be sure to buy it. All places I have long wished to visit.

  3. Fallen in love with the photos and the outline of the story a nice mix of past and the present makes one want to visit all these places for oneself

  4. I was fortunate enough to read a section of it in the ‘being written’ stages. I was reading it at East Midlands airport and was so engrossed I missed the first call for plane!
    I cannot wait to read the rest of it…and to see the photographs and what I gave been told is amazing art work.

    Please put me in the hat to win!

  5. It’s such a great idea for a book. Seeing all the places where the Yorks had been and putting things into perspective helps to visualise what their world might have looked like

  6. I loved reading about all these beautiful historical castles, cathedrals etc. I was born and raised in England and although I have lived overseas for many years I still consider England my home. Thank you for teaching me more.

    1. Melodie, you are our winner! Please PM me on Facebook or message me here:
      scully_dc AT yahoo DOT com

      Congratulations!!!

  7. Great photos. Love Lincoln, and wished I’d visited Eltham palace when we lived in Woolwich, it was literately…. just down the road

    1. It was one of my favorite places. I didn’t expect to fall in love with it, but that’s what happened!

Leave a Reply

