Reading 2017: Reading Challenge 2017

As readers are aware from my last entry in this series, I was not entirely satisfied with my challenge experience for 2016. It seemed to focus solely on numbers and achieving more—more than one’s own from a previous year, certainly. But it’s also difficult to deny the creeping competition involving others, which in this context I’m not all that interested in, to be honest. I read 60 books last year, more than some others did. Bragging rights? Hardly! Many other readers gobbled up a whole lot more books than I did. OK, so?

So, I wasn’t planning to do a 2017 challenge because, quantity being the primary accomplishment, I was bored. Plus, I didn’t really want the stress. Then I came across one of my Goodreads group’s discussions, and saw a few options that intrigued, opening me up to the realization that my imagination was lacking. As mentioned in that previous Reading 2017 entry, their many options included a serious re-visiting of one’s To Be Read (TBR) list; step reading through different series; re-reads; exploring new authors and so on. I decided to take a little from a couple of ideas and tailor them to my own challenge, which became:

Explore three genres that are new or newish to you and read five books that have been on your TBR for more than one year.

In the interest of a truer exploration, I added a “three by three” element to the new-genres side of the challenge: that is to say, three of each new genre for a total of nine books. There’s that counting thing again, but the real aim is to look into the genre from at least a few different angles, each author having their own style, and stories being like children in a family, typically they are completely different to one another. I wanted to avoid any expectation that one story could represent an entire genre.

I purchased this book in 2012 and still have yet to read it. Will it make the TBR challenge in 2017?

The TBR addition wasn’t merely to add bulk: I really do have a boatload of reads I keep saying I am getting to. I recall once making a very intellectual stranger laugh when I commented within some casual group book talk that I was trying really hard to be “just about to start reading” a non-fiction work about the Peloponnesian War. I wasn’t that keen on his resultant mirth until he told me most people skip anything that reveals the difficulty they have getting started, but the ease with which they name drop. OK, that stirred me a bit. That, dear readers, was in 2012.

As of now I haven’t yet chosen my TBR reads, though my “new or newish” genres are sci-fi, true crime and graphic novels. Having previously read and reviewed one sci-fi tale might have given me the courage to move forward, because I loved it (and a review of its sequel is slated for next week)! I do admit I was tempted to make this upcoming one part of my three-by-three bracket, but slapped my wrist and told myself to be brave.

Graphic novels, too, I have a tad bit of experience with, though I’d wanted to expand my repertoire and read a few more than the kiddie ones I’d been doing. I liked them, sure, but had also heard that some classics had been transformed into this genre and that really put me on alert for something fantastic that could be.

The first in my true-crime reading spree. (Click image for review.)

Finally, true crime had been recommended to me and I made the leap, reading and reviewing the first of the three I’d resolved to review one from each genre in their own three-part series, the start of which can be found here. Mark Fuhrman’s Murder in Greenwich was so well written I decided to seek out another from his collection. Another recommendation led me to my final true crime, which rounded out that genre early in the year. I’ll write more about the entire bracket later in the Reading 2017 series.

So: nine new-genre reads and five long-time waiting ones. A number again, but after all the challenge does require you punch one in. I made mine fifteen for a nice, rounded figure, and reached it quite quickly—though not having met my real goal. I’ve upped it to twenty-five, though this too has been achieved, and am about to raise it again. It’s a good feeling to be able to dismiss what that number might be, knowing there is something more important within, and the links that lead me, like stepping stones, along a pathway of ideas as I pile yet ever more on top of my already tottering TBR.

A few picks from my TBR (Click to read more about selected titles; what I’m currently reading is linked in sidebar)

Stay tuned for more in “Reading 2017” and its three-part spinoff series, “New Genre Library.”

*********

4 thoughts on “Reading 2017: Reading Challenge 2017

Leave a Reply

